1. Main
  2. Learn
  3. Politics
  4. Politics

Kazakhstan to introduce visa free entry for developed countries

©newskaz.ru ©newskaz.ru

Kazakhstan plans to simplify visa procedures for 34 member-countries of the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development), the United Arab Emirates, Malaysia, Singapore and Monaco, Tengrinews reports citing Deputy Foreign Minister of Kazakhstan Alexey Volkov.

The citizens of these countries will be granted visa free entry and permission to stay in Kazakhstan for up to 30 days from their date of entry. This step is expected to facilitate the creation of the Astana International Financial Center (AIFC), which will be established on the basis of EXPO-2017 facilties after the exhibition is held in Astana in summer of 2017.

Kazakhstan plans to turn the AIFC into a financial hub for the post soviet space and take advantage of its favorable location at the crossroads between Western countries and Asia. To facilitate implementation of this plan, Kazakhstan is introducing visa free entry to attract potential foreign investors.

“Currently, we are working to ease the visa regime for the countries of the OECD, the United Arab Emirates, Malaysia, Singapore and Monaco starting from January 1, 2017. This includes introduction of visa free entry for up to a stay of up to 30 calendar days from the date of entry into the territory of Kazakhstan,” Volkov said.

According to him, the years of 2016 and 2017 will be crucial for building the infrastructure and attracting foreign investors for this project. Given the advanced development of financial sectors in the United States, Western European countries (Great Britain, France), Middle East (UAE, Qatar, Bahrain), Southeast Asia (Singapore, Malaysia, China), Kazakhstan expects investments primarily from these countries.

Currently, citizens of Australia, Hungary, Italy, Monaco, Belgium, Spain, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Malaysia, the United Arab Emirates, Singapore, the United Kingdom, the United States, Germany, Finland, France, Switzerland and Japan are exempted from visa requirements for a stay of up to 15 days from the moment of crossing the state border of Kazakhstan for the period from July 16, 2015 until December 31, 2017.

By introducing this regime, Kazakhstan expects to improve conditions for tourists, who may willing to come to Kazakhstan and attend two major international events that the country is going to host within the next two years - Winter Universiade in Almaty and EXPO-2017 in Astana.

By Assel Satubaldina, editing by Tatyana Kuzmina

Nobel prizewinner proposes a new city in KZ
New abnormal snowfalls expected in Kazakhstan
Huge glacier retreat triggered in 1940s
Hyperloop construction begins in Las Vegas
"Moonlight" to top Spirit Awards nominations
Oil prices fall due to investors uncertainty
New dwarf galaxy discovered around Milky Way
Kanat Islam becomes a top ten WBO boxer
World oil prices continue to rise
Kazakhstan expects warming - Kazhydromet
Merkel to seek fourth term as chancellor
Sale of Tintin drawings set to break records
US, EU stocks fall as markets focus on dollar
Pacific leaders urged to defend free trade
EU warns eight nations on budget deficit
Universiade-2017: Athletic Village is ready
Bob Dylan can't make Nobel ceremony
Messi will never leave Barca - club president
Google, Facebook take aim at 'fake' news
Aerosmith announces Europe 'farewell' tour
Putin, Trump to normalise US-Russia ties
At least 10 hurt in southern Turkey blast
6.2 quake hits western Japan
OPEC agrees shock oil output cut
Israeli ex-president and Nobel laureate Peres dies
Germany blocks WhatsApp data transfers to Facebook
32,000 arrested in Turkey coup probe
Youth to the fore as Milan fashion week opens
Xenophobia threatening peace in eastern Germany
Four-in-10 Japanese are virgins: poll
Sweden re-militarises Baltic island of Gotland
China to launch second space laboratory: Xinhua
More than a billion stars mapped in Milky Way: ESA
Boxing: Golovkin eyes Saunders after stopping Brook
Kazakhstan shifts PM to security chief
Oil prices gain despite rising OPEC supply forecast
US to give Philippines military planes
Singapore wages war on Zika-bearing mosquitoes
Italy quake death toll nears 250
Viral photos add fuel to French burkini debate
18 dead as Italy struck by powerful quake
Japan's first lady visits Pearl Harbor
Pokemon's a no-go on Bangkok's roads
July was Earth's hottest month in modern times
Pakistan rock climbers scale new heights