Реклама +7(700) 388 81 09
  1. Main
  2. Learn
  3. Economy
  4. Markets

Kazakhstan to launch 75 new air routes within 6 years 03 июля 2014, 16:18

Kazakhstan is going to launch 75 new international air routes by 2020.
  • Found a bug?

Photo ©Marat Abilov Photo ©Marat Abilov

Kazakhstan is going to launch 75 new international air routes by 2020, Tengrinews reports referring to the Minister of Transport and Communications of Kazakhstan Zhenis Kassymbek as saying at the 9th International Conference on Transport-and-Transit Potential TransEurasia-2014.

“75 more international routes will be launched by 2020 and their number will total at 128,” Zhenis Kassymbek said.

He also reminded that this year Air Astana, Kazakhstan’s national airline, was finally removed from the EU's grey list of airlines subject to restriction, and it could increase the number of flights to Europe. By the end of 2014, it was planned to get the limitations removed from Kazakhstan’s other large airlines.

13 runways and 9 terminals in airports throughout Kazakhstan are now being reconstructed to accommodate larger airplanes, the Minister said. Reconstruction of these and all the runways is going to be completed by 2020. Kazakhstan has a total of 18 airports, 12 of them comply with ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization) categories.

Besides, Kazakhstan is working on turning Astana and Almaty airports into international air hubs and facilitating their use as transit airports where people can connect flights elsewhere.

Zhenys Kassymbek said in his speech that integration into the global transport system was of major importance for development of Kazakhstan's transport system.

The TransEurasia-2014 took place in Astana on May 22, 2014 within the framework of the 7th Astana Economic Forum and the 2nd World Anti-Crisis Conference.

Around 300 delegates from 26 countries attended the conference, including transport agencies from Eurasian countries, international and regional organizations, and transport companies from Kazakhstan, China, the United States, Russia, Lithuania, Estonia, Belarus and Ukraine.

Reporting by Assemgul Kassenova, writing by Assel Satubaldina, editing by Tatyana Kuzmina


Join Telegram