Film director of Harmony Lessons gets Special Mention Award at Asian Oscar event

19 декабря 2013, 16:26
Film director Emir Baigazin. Personal archive photo
Film director Emir Baigazin. Personal archive photo
Emir Baigazin, Kazakhstan film director of Harmony Lessons, has gained the Special Mention Award in the Achievements in Directing category at the annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards 2013, Tengrinews reports.

29-y.o. Emir Baigazin was nominated in the Achievements in Directing category. Besides Emir Baigazin, Japanese director Hirokazu Kore-eda with his Soshite chichi ni naru (Like Father, Like Son), film director Hiner Saleem from Iraq with My Sweet Pepperland, Anthony Chen of Singapore with Ilo Ilo and Iranian Shahram Mokri with Mahi Va Gorbeh (Fish and Cat) were nominated for the Achievements in Directing.

Anthony Chen of Singapore with his film Ilo Ilo became the winner in this category.

Another Kazakhstan film Shal (The Old Man) by Yermek Tursunov was also presented in two categories - Best Performance of an Actor and Achievements in Cinematography - at the Asian Oscar event. Unfortunately the film didn’t win any awards.

Omar by Dutch director Hany Abu-Assad was awarded with the main prize of the Best Feature Film category. The film will be nominated for the American Academy Award Oscar in the Best Foreign Language Film category.

Lee Byung-hun received the award in the Best Performance of an Actor category for his role in the film South Korean Masquerade and the Best Performance of an Actress award was given to Zhang Ziyi for Chinese film Grandmaster.

Russian animated film Koo! Kin-Dza-Dza became the winner of the Best Animated Feature Film category.

Winners of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards were determined by an International Jury of renowned filmmakers. The Jury meets ahead of the Awards Ceremony to watch the nominated films and decide the winners across eight award categories.

This year, esteemed Indian screenwriter and director Shyam Benegal was the Jury Chairman who led a group of accomplished jury members including Korean screenwriter and director Kim Tae-yong, Queen of Sri Lankan Cinema actress Malini Fonseka, Turkish actor Tamer Levent, Swiss director Christoph Schaub and Hong Kong producer Albert Lee.

39 films from 21 Asia Pacific were candidates for the prestigious award in 2013.

The APSA ceremony took place on December 12, 2013 in Brisbane, Australia.

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) is an international cultural initiative of the State Government of Queensland, Australia, through Events Queensland, to honor and promote the films, actors, directors, and cultures of Asia-Pacific to the global audience and to realize the objectives of UNESCO to promote and preserve the respective cultures through the influential medium of film. Staged for the first time in 2007, APSA collaborates with UNESCO and FIAPF-International Federation of Film Producers Associations.

  • Подписаться на канал новостей TengriNews:

  • Google News
  • Yandex News
  • Yandex Zen

Нравится Поделиться
Хотите больше статей? Смотреть все
Добавить комментарий