Tengrinews TV Радио Tengri FM Радио Жұлдыз FM Laws of Kazakhstan
Write us +7 (727) 388 8020 +7 (717) 254 2710
искать через Tengrinews.kz
искать через Google
искать через Yandex
USD / KZT - 326.74
EUR / KZT - 382.81
CNY / KZT - 48.47
RUB / KZT - 5.50

Kazakhstan’s President Nazarbayev meets Collective Security Treaty Organization Secretary General

11 december 2014, 15:15

Kazakhstan’s President Nursultan Nazarbayev has met Nikolai Bordyuzha, Secretary General of the Collective Security Treaty Organization, a Tengrinews.kz journalist reports, citing the President’s official website.

At the talks Nikolai Bordyuzha briefed Kazakhstan’s President on prep works towards the forthcoming session of the Collective Security Council to be held in Moscow.

The sides also dwelt on threats and challenges faced by the CSTO member states and measures to be taken to minimize negative trends.

“Coalition forces are expected to be withdrawn from Afghanistan, new threats related to the Islamic State are emerging (…) in this context, the Organization is to be a think-tank to forecast and work out suggestions on necessary concerted measures”, President Nazarbatev said.

Nikolai Bordyuzha briefed President Nazarbayev on the Organization’s results in 2014 and military cooperation efforts.
Collective Security Treaty Organization is an intergovernmental military alliance which was signed on 15 May 1992. In 1992, six post-Soviet states —Russia, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan—signed the Collective Security Treaty. Three other post- Soviet states—Azerbaijan, Belarus, and Georgia—signed the next year and the treaty took effect in 1994. Five years later, six of the nine—all but Azerbaijan, Georgia, and Uzbekistan—agreed to renew the treaty for five more years, and in 2002 those six formally agreed to create the Collective Security Treaty Organization as a military alliance. Uzbekistan rejoined the CSTO in 2005 but withdrew in 2012.

Add comment
Most Read
Most Discussed