Tengrinews TV Радио Tengri FM Радио Жұлдыз FM Laws of Kazakhstan
Write us +7 (727) 388 8020 +7 (717) 254 2710
искать через Tengrinews.kz
искать через Google
искать через Yandex
USD / KZT - 324.98
EUR / KZT - 378.34
CNY / KZT - 48.01
RUB / KZT - 5.53

Chairman of Central Election Commission of Kazakhstan appointed

24 february 2015, 18:47
Kuandyk Turgankulov ©Tengrinews
Kuandyk Turgankulov ©Tengrinews

Kuandyk Turgankulov has been appointed Chairman of the Central Election Commission of Kazakhstan, Tengrinews reports citing the press service of the presidential palace. In addition, Tatiana Okhlopkova has been appointed a new member of the CEC of Kazakhstan.

Turgankulov has already occupied this position before. He was appointed chairman of the Commission on 9 January 2010 for a five year term. In January 1996 he was appointed Deputy Chairman of the Central Election Commission, and from January 2007 he was appointed Chairman of the Central Election Commission of Kazakhstan.

The Central Election Commission is at the helm of the system of election commissions in Kazakhstan and is a permanent body.

The Central Election Commission consists of a Chairman, a Deputy Chairman, a Secretary and members of the commission, elected and dismissed by the Majilis, the lower chamber of the Kazakh parliament. Chairman and Secretary of the Central Election Commission must have a degree in law. As a permanent state body the Central Election Commission has its own headquarters.

Chairman of the Commission is appointed and dismissed by the President of Kazakhstan. He or she convenes the first meeting of the Commission within fourteen days after the election of the Commission. The Chairman also approves the structure and staffing of the commission. 

The Current Deputy Chairman is Vladimir Foos, while the Secretary of the Central Election Commission is Bakhyt Meldeshov. The current members of the CEC are Marat Sarsembayev, Lyazzat Suleimen and Tatiana Okhlopkova.

By Dinara Urazova

Add comment
Most Read
Most Discussed