Citizens of Custom Union member-states to work without restrictions at its territory

31 мая 2011, 17:44
Birzhan Nurymbetov
Birzhan Nurymbetov
The citizens of Customs Union member-countries will be able to work without restrictions at its territory. The agreement on labor migration between Kazakhstan, Russia and Belarus is being discussion in the Upper Chamber of Kazakhstan Parliament, reports.

The work group suggested to adopt an international definition of the term “migrant”. After ratification of the agreement that is also being reviewed in the Russian State Duma and Belarus Parliament citizens of the three countries will br able to get jobs at the territory of the CU without any restrictions.

“Administrative procedures such as work permits and quotas on foreign labor will be eliminated” for the Customs Union counties, Kazakhstan Vice-Minister of Labor and Social Protection Birzhan Nurymbetov said.

Vice-Minister said that the Kazakh government agreed to this labor amendment because there are deeper integration processes underway in the Common Economic Space within the CIS (Commonwealth of Independent States).

Experience of the European Union was considered during preparation of the agreement.

There are no reasons to anticipate a flow of migrants from Russia and Belarus after adoption of the document.

“The Russian Federation and the Republic of Belarus are not the countries of migration risk for us and currently export of labor from these countries is insignificant,” Nurymbetov said.

There are 60 Belarus citizens and around one thousand citizens of Russian who are currently working in Kazakhstan. As a comparison, there are 206 thousand Belarus citizens and 9 thousand Kazakhstan citizens working in Russia. Only 20 Kazakhstan citizens work in Belarus, as per Birzhan Nurymbetov.

Despite of liberalization of labor migration processes the countries are protecting their interests. The new agreement has got provisions protecting national security and strategic areas of the economy, in particular they allow the countries to set restrictions on staff. Other areas exempt from the agreement are national programs for social protection from unemployment.

Хотите больше статей? Смотреть все
Добавить комментарий