Tengrinews TV Радио Tengri FM Радио Жұлдыз FM Laws of Kazakhstan
Write us +7 (727) 388 8020 +7 (717) 254 2710
искать через Tengrinews.kz
искать через Google
искать через Yandex
USD / KZT - 340.35
EUR / KZT - 405.46
CNY / KZT - 51.64
RUB / KZT - 5.87

'Hunger Games' wins big at MTV Movie Awards

14 april 2014, 14:48

The second installment of "The Hunger Games" saga dominated the MTV Movie Awards Sunday, with a best-film trophy and best actor awards for Josh Hutcherson and Jennifer Lawrence, AFP reports.

Hutcherson accepted the movie of the year trophy on behalf of "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" while paying tribute to Philip Seymour Hoffman, who died in February and played the role Plutarch Heavensbee in the dystopian film series.

"I know that if Phillip were here, he would really think that this is very cool," Hutcherson said.

Hutcherson also took home the trophy for best male performance, while co-star Jennifer Lawrence, who was not present, won for best female.

Both also won in 2012 for the first movie in the series, and Lawrence had previously won in 2013 for "Silver Linings Playbook."

The MTV Movie Awards, hosted by comedian Conan O'Brien in Los Angeles, were based on public voting.

The ceremony, famous for its off-the-wall award categories, passed out accolades for best kiss, best shirtless performance and best "#wtf moment," among others.

Leonardo DiCaprio won best "#wtf moment" for a scene from "The Wolf of Wall Street," in which his drugged-out character drags himself to his car, unable to walk.

Best shirtless performance was won by Zac Efron, who had his shirt ripped off in a clearly staged stunt while he accepted the award for a bare-chested scene in "That Awkward Moment."

Studios use the ceremony -- which falls after the winter's Golden Globe and Oscar awards -- to promote forthcoming summer blockbusters.

The night's young target audience was hit with trailers and appearances by stars such as Aaron Taylor-Johnson, who presented a trophy and will appear in "Godzilla," out this May.

Among the evening's other winners were Jared Leto, Mark Wahlberg, Channing Tatum, Rihanna, Brad Pitt, Mila Kunis and Orlando Bloom.

Other contenders for movie of the year were "12 Years a Slave," "American Hustle," "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug" and "The Wolf of Wall Street."

Add comment
Most Read
Most Discussed